Biography
ÉmilieBélangersuite-63.jpg
Jardinmusical,spectacle2018-102_edited.jpg

A high school music teacher, Nicolas is invited to many projects whether as a composer, arranger, orchestrator, copyist, saxophonist, pianist, choirmaster or musical director. His catalog includes compositions for saxophone, piano, harmony, orchestra, choir as well as music for the image. Some of his pieces are published by the Alliance chorale du Québec and by his company, Productions Con Spiritu.

Raised in a family of professional musicians, Nicolas studied at the Cégep de Drummondville where he obtained a DEC in Jazz Composition and Arrangement , a DEC in Saxophone Interpretation and an AEC in Creation and Sound Editing .  He then went to the University of Montreal where he obtained a bachelor's degree in writing . He then went to the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM) where he obtained a bachelor's degree in music education and a DESS in film music . During his training, he worked on the saxophone with Pierre Daigneault, Billy Boufard and Mathieu Gaulin, and worked on musical composition with Denis Mailloux and François-Hugues Leclerc .

In 2005, he launched the album Le chaplet enchanté following an order to set the prayers of the rosary to music. The album travels to Pope Benedict XVI. For the 2007-2008 season, he was the choirmaster and accompanying pianist for the Euphonie choir in Drummondville. In 2014, he won 1st prize at the 3rd edition of the composition competition organized by the Polymnie Vocal Ensemble for his piece Lève-toi… et viens! In June 2015, the Vocalys ensemble under the direction of Raymond Perrin premiered its oratorio Virgo Fidei . From 2017 to 2020, he is the conductor of the intergenerational choir and the adult choir and saxophone teacher at Le Jardin Musical school in Longueuil. In 2021, the Alliance chorale du Québec commissioned a work from him to represent the Centre-du-Québec region as part of the “Au choir des regions” project. The piece was premiered on December 12, 2021 by the choir Les Gospangels . Since 2020, he has been teaching music in Drummondville. In 2022, he became the choirmaster of the St-Frédéric basilica in Drummondville.

Biographie
ÉmilieBélangersuite-63.jpg
Jardinmusical,spectacle2018-102_edited.jpg

Enseignant de musique au secondaire, Nicolas est invité à de nombreux projets que ce soit en tant que compositeur, arrangeur, orchestrateur, copiste, saxophoniste, pianiste, chef de choeur ou directeur musical. Son catalogue comprend des compositions pour saxophone, piano, harmonie, orchestre, chœur ainsi que la musique à l'image. Certaines de ses pièces sont éditées par l'Alliance chorale du Québec et par sa compagnie, les Productions Con Spiritu.

Élevé au sein d’une famille de musiciens professionnels, Nicolas étudie au Cégep de Drummondville où il obient un DEC en Composition et Arrangement jazz, un DEC en Interprétation du saxophone et une AEC en Création et montage sonore.  Il part ensuite à l'Université de Montréal où il obtient un baccalauréat en Écriture. Il se dirige ensuite à L'Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) où il obtient un baccalauréat en Enseignement de la musique et un DESS en Musique de film. Durant sa formation, il travaille le saxophone auprès de Pierre Daigneault, de Billy Boufard et de Mathieu Gaulin, et travaille la composition musicale auprès de Denis Mailloux et de François-Hugues Leclerc.

En 2005, il lance l'album Le chapelet enchanté suite à une commande pour mettre en musique les prières du chapelet. L'album voyage jusqu’au pape Benoît XVI. Pour la saison 2007-2008, il est le chef de chœur et pianiste accompagnateur de la chorale Euphonie à Drummondville. En 2014, il gagne le 1er prix lors de la 3e édition du concours de composition organisé par l’Ensemble vocal Polymnie pour sa pièce Lève-toi… et viens! En juin 2015, l'ensemble Vocalys sous la direction de Raymond Perrin fait la création de son oratorio Virgo Fidei. De 2017 à 2020, il est le chef de la chorale intergénérationnelle et de la chorale adulte et professeur de saxophone à l'école Le Jardin Musical à Longueuil. En 2021, l'Alliance chorale du Québec lui commande une oeuvre afin de représenter le Centre-du-Québec dans le cadre du projet « Au choeur des régions ». La pièce est créée le 12 décembre 2021 par la chorale Les Gospangels. Depuis 2020, il est enseignant de musique à Drummondville. En 2022, il devient le chef de choeur de la basilique St-Frédéric à Drummondville.